ill with ghosts.

June 6, 2011

I get sick,
In empty rooms and quiet spaces,
Overcome by calm,
So I fill my time to make it pass,
Help this day end faster than last,
Even on nights I’ve fully slept,
With darkness dawned-
Sadness swept-
The ache still harbors in my chest,
And does not fade when morning comes,
As it once did,
When it bloomed at night but in sunlight hid,
Now it’s endured all my health,
Lovesick for a feeling I’m fooling myself,
And then,
Homesick for a place I haven’t been,
All I feel is ill with ghosts,
Of things I’ve never had,
Night nor sun are such reprieve,
From the haunting thoughts that will not leave,
So I live my hours busy, quick
Because when I slow down,
I get sick.

4.19.2011

8 Responses to “ill with ghosts.”

  1. Miki said

    Great poem. Love your use of words and the symbolism they create!

  2. Jingle said

    beautiful expression, welcome in.

    Happy Rally.

    🙂

  3. I love it! This is just fantastically expressed.

    • Fountains said

      Thank you, thank you. 😛 I haven’t had a moment to give it the time it deserves, but the poems on your site seem so interesting. I’ll be checking it out soon.

  4. wanderlust and woeful thoughts–rust the souls of all poets

say something to me.

