she said.

June 14, 2011

I’ve smeared my makeup and knotted my hair.
It’s not even noon yet.
Her words were meant to be comforting.
She gave tips on how to numb myself, and pull myself away.
How to give up without walking away.
Comparing me to the most crushing relationship I’ve ever known.
Just hold on, she said.
What kind of a life is that? I said.
She told me how to keep busy and fill my time with other things.
Bide my time with other people.
I’m not condoning or disapproving, she said.
It’s just the way it is, she said.
Her words brought out what I’d been swallowing.
Feeling it spill down my cheeks.
She told me to make a plan, set my goals, write it down.
How to turn this into something.
It felt like a long time coming.
Hearing it from someone else makes it cold, makes it real.
Uh huh, I said.
I have to go wash my face, I said.

10.22.2010

47 Responses to “she said.”

  1. Great poem, just the title makes you interested. Thanks!

  2. Great job! Kept me leaning forward, waiting to see how it would end.

  3. Kim Nelson said

    You rather eloquently constructed this piece from what is clearly deep, heavy-laden emotion. Well done.

  4. Jo Bryant said

    lovely – the words flow from line to line dragging you along

  5. Jingle said

    beautiful.

    Glad to see you in.
    Happy Rally.

  6. Nice flowing and interesting poem, I enjoyed reading it very much 🙂

  7. mbwilliams said

    heartfelt and raw but also uplifting – loved it!

  8. luna15 said

    its sad and real great images and feelings portrayed

  9. Flows very well, really liked it a lot, thanks:)

  10. Shara said

    Sometimes the hope, the lifeline that we are looking for isn’t what we get. Others’ advice can make life seem even more bleak than before, and I don’t even think they mean it to be that way. Whatever the serious situation and details, know that there really is hope out there. The one factor that you can control is you. If you uphold who you are, there will be an answer. Hang in there.

  11. Andy said

    When love fails, everyone has an opinion as to what you should do.
    Follow your heart and do what’s right for you.

    Sad and heartfelt.

  12. A.B. Thomas said

    It’s always bemusing how others try to help without doing so – a very excellent write!

  13. My mom and I always seem to say the wrong things to each, we really just don’t communicate well. She’s gotten in her head I have no feelings so you can imagine the damage. This is a powerful and beautifully written poem

    • Fountains said

      Thank you, I can relate to what you’ve said. My mother thinks I’m too sorrowful and I think she’s in denial. Often her survivalist views crush my romantic ones.

  14. I’m not sure why, but I want to hug you after reading this.

  15. This is brilliant because it’s so real, and I think SO MANY people cold relate to this! :] xx

  16. #COULD relate…. sorry… typing ERROR. As usual. haha. Thanks again for a brill oem. :] xx

  17. […] would like to nominate https://wherepleasantfountainslie.wordpress.com/2011/06/14/she-said/ Thanks very […]

  18. You capture the real feeling…

  19. Dayang said

    Interesting. Most people can relate to this poem.

  20. pmlevitt said

    I had an emotional reaction to your poem. I felt the feeling I have had when someone is attempting to support me, but it’s not what I want to hear and I just shut down. That your poem brought those feelings forth, well, it’s doing it’s job!

    • Fountains said

      Thank you! That is a very accurate description of how I was feeling and I’m pleased that the poem actually conveys and provokes that emotion. I truly appreciate your opinion.

  21. This very descriptive of an emotion we can probably all relate to. Well written 🙂

  22. SamaraMarie said

    I like how the poem kept me wanting to read more to see how it would end. It made me think about my own emotions when I’m hearing words that I’m not ready to listen to yet. Thanks for sharing.

    • Fountains said

      I often feel like I’m not ready for what I’m hearing – very apt way to describe the feeling and the poem itself. Thank you for reading and sharing your opinion.

  23. This is sad to me, and well love is a pain huh?, Thank you, much appreciated, WS

say something to me.

