there’s a bluebird in my heart.

July 28, 2011

There’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but the world is too dark for him.
I say, stay in there, I’m not going
to let the world tarnish you.

There’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I feed him envy and sips of disdain
to quell him
and the people on the street and my family
and those I’ve held closest
never know that
I’m
not indifferent.

There’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but the world is too bleak for him.
I say, do you want to blow
my cover?
You want to be told you can’t
fly?
You want disappointments and
lies?

There’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I’m too scared, I only let him out
at night sometimes
when I’m writing poetry.
I say, I know you’re in there
to give me
hope.
Then I put him away
but, he’s still singing a little.
In there, the world cannot get to him
but
we go to sleep together with
me
knowing that
the world
would be a better place
if I weren’t afraid to
let him
sing.
It’s sad enough to
make a soul
weep, but I don’t
weep, should
you?

Sorry, Bukowski. But you were scared, too.

 

Original:
http://allpoetry.com/poem/8509539-Bluebird-by-Charles_Bukowski

This poem was inspired by the Video of the Week for 7.27.2011 at The Turnstiles Review. I wondered to myself if it is okay to cherish a poet but still see faults in their work, in their hearts. No one is perfect, right? We can challenge our heroes, and heroes they will still remain.

55 Responses to “there’s a bluebird in my heart.”

  1. booguloo said

    If you decide to let him out.. let him have room on your shoulder. Smiles…

  2. D.S. Jones said

    This just makes me so damn curious as to who you really are.

    • Fountains said

      Well, this is possibly the poem I hold dearest in my heart – the original, that is. I’ve got a brief “about me” on my Contact Me page but the best I can tell you is I’m just a girl with a bluebird, is all. πŸ˜‰

  3. j said

    im thinking too much to make any explanation on this one. but yes we all are too afraid to let our blue birds out…having fear like Bukowski. And I thought I was cynical hehe. Love the poem. Makes me think like a madman.

  4. Okelle said

    Thanks for introducing me to another of Bukowski’s poems. Here’s one I used to read under a bridge — I didn’t know it was his until much later:
    http://okelle.wordpress.com/2010/12/17/the-gods-wait-to-delight-in-you/

    Mirroring an original poem can be an excellent tool/writing prompt, in the same way that copying a famous work of art can be a good technical exercise for visual artists.

    • Fountains said

      This, too, is a beautiful poem and I appreciate you sharing it with me. Do you mean the poem was written under a bridge, or you’d sit under a bridge and read from a book…? You’ve made me curious. Also thank you for your encouraging thoughts on mirroring, as I agree with you. It’s not about cheating or thievery but building on someone else’s foundation to see if it holds.

      • Okelle said

        The poem was on a poster — it was printed above a drawing of someone spreadeagled on a hill looking up at the stars. Someone had pasted two copies of it to an embankment next to a walking path that went under a bridge.

      • Fountains said

        Okelle, that is incredibly intriguing to me. I feel like this image will float around in my mind for a while. Thanks for sharing with me. πŸ™‚

  5. A poem with meaning, and honesty rippling through it – I love it πŸ˜‰

  6. A terrific piece of writing here. I know the feeling of not wanting those around you to see the real you. Afraid they won’t approve and try to suppress your inner feelings.

  7. Jingle said

    everyone wears a mask at times, it is a way to escape or stay safe.

    bless you, beautiful work.

  8. Hmm…like both poems. Different smokes for different folks. I like both beginnings, prefer your middle (but the world is too bleak for him…In there, the world cannot get to him), and prefer his ending. But I gave you an exceptional for taking on a poem in this manner–very gutsy and you pulled it off πŸ™‚

    • Fountains said

      Did I really? I’ll admit, it felt a little blasphemous calling out my favorite poem of all time but if I pulled it off – oh, my head may be too big for my shoulders right now. πŸ™‚ Your feedback is always so helpful. Thank you, sir.

  9. hannah said

    we all have “bluebirds” in our hearts. i find myself drawn to this line:
    “we go to sleep together with
    me
    knowing that
    the world
    would be a better place
    if I weren’t afraid to
    let him
    sing.”

    …always the hardest thing to do.

  10. jsendslove said

    Love! I can relate, my bluebird is locked up and only out for my poetry .. Great piece!

  11. David said

    Thank you for letting your bluebird out. πŸ™‚

  12. When you let your bird out, we all get to see it. And it is wonderful!

  13. Leo said

    Maybe the bird won’t go away even if u let him free πŸ™‚ Like Princess September’s nightingale, he might just go listen to stories from the world and bring them back for you to hear.

    My Poem ~ Vicissitude of thought

    • Fountains said

      Leo, I think I was in a play by that same name in elementary school, or at least it was called The Nightingale. I guess I should just let him out and see what happens. πŸ˜›

  14. J Sirrah said

    You did wonderful with this and I greatly admire you for taking the chance to allow your own bluebird to fly.Fear is nothing more than not letting yourself live and learn.Best wishes and thank you for sharing this,your own bluebird πŸ™‚

  15. I can definitely relate to this feeling and so many people are under the illusion I am indifferent too when in reality as poets we feels everything very deeply

  16. tigerbrite said

    Well done. I enjoyed this, thank you.

  17. dsnake1 said

    Bukowski, one of my heroes too, a hero with flaws and that’s what makes it more human. πŸ™‚

    and this is a worthy take on his poem, i enjoyed it immensely.

  18. Ina said

    I just read the original for the first time, and both poems are wonderful πŸ™‚

  19. This is a very interesting poem, I find it fascinating, great write, thank you, much appreciated, WS

  20. A.B. Thomas said

    Fantastic write! I suspect that many a folk hide away their bluebird lest it be mistaken for a new dish for KFC….

  21. clariice said

    Lovely thoughts! I believe each one of us has a bluebird in our hearts – wanting to fly into freedom. Perhaps one day it might break free, if we allow it to, wont we?

  22. Adam said

    A great poem. I can really relate to the part where the bluebird is only released whilst writing poetry.

    Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  23. Chelsea Bets said

    I am so impressed… An amazing piece of work. Well done.

  24. caridwen said

    I really enjoyed this one. There are so many unexpected turns of phrase, and just when you think it’s going to even out and go conventional, you throw in a line or two that tweak it back to startling. Well done!

  25. Bella said

    Thank you, this is fascinating

  26. […] 5. William Leed (talking leaves) 6.Β  Words and Spaces (Daniel Nettleton) 7.Β  Modern rage 8.Β  Stray Lower (Where Pleasant Fountains Lie) 9.Β  Chevve 10.Β  Johnlmalone 11.Β  The Noiseless Cuckooclock 12.Β  Life In Verse 13.Β  Magical […]

say something to me.

