he’s the house i grew up in.

August 5, 2011

He’s the house I grew up in,
years that I’ll cherish,
and be sad to let go.
But I can’t live there anymore.
Him, I’ve outgrown.
I won’t forget what I learned there,
the lessons and memories,
from a girl to a woman.
But this house no more fits me.
I have tears in my eyes,
since as I write this I know,
soon where he lives,
I’ll no longer call home.
And I hope he’ll forgive me,
for how I’ve matured,
for how love fades to fondness,
from what we’ve endured,
for how more than a decade,
can broaden cracks in foundations.
He’s the house I grew up in,
the shelter I built upon,
but I’ve aged enough here,
and it’s time I moved on.

12 Responses to “he’s the house i grew up in.”

  1. J Sirrah said

    You did it.Left me almost speechless with this one.
    I so admire your writing.

  2. j said

    love this…not much to comment but like some art, you just gaze in the depth and remain speechless.

  3. “I won’t forget what I learned there,
    the lessons and memories,
    from a girl to a woman.”

    And also,

    “And I hope he’ll forgive me,
    for how I’ve matured,
    for how love fades to fondness,
    from what we’ve endured,”

    The recognition of life moving on is sometimes so difficult to understand or grasp in the context of relationships. Never forgeting where you came from and where you’ve been will help you in moving forward. Well done and well captured! Bravo and Kudos!

    • Fountains said

      It is extremely difficult. Guilt, sadness, an ache for a new life… I haven’t even managed to bring myself to read this poem outside of writing it. Thank you for your encouraging words and comments.

  4. hames1977 said

    there are so many refreshing highlights in these verses, something that is new and unique, in which organically flowed through the poem. this ceases to be a mere wordsmithing, but was drawn from the depths of the heart.

    special mention of the verse i loved most here:

    “And I hope he’ll forgive me,
    for how I’ve matured,
    for how love fades to fondness,
    from what we’ve endured,
    for how more than a decade,
    can broaden cracks in foundations.”

    i can feel those cracks broaden at the foundations and the eventual demise of a stronghold. such a great write here.

    • Fountains said

      Demise of a stronghold, your words are profound and perfect. That would be probably be my deepest verse, if memory serves me correctly. Thank you for feeling this poem, and for your encouraging critique.

  5. NK said

    You capture the pain of growing up beautifully… and I like the sort of ageless quality this poem puts at its forefront. Very nicely done.

  6. Morning said

    aged enough,
    got tough,
    time to move on,
    let’s sing a song….

    smiles, great sentiments expressed, have fun!

say something to me.

