nothing is sadder than a glass of wine alone.

Dancing around the bedroom,
alone,
tears streaming,
falling onto my sleep shirt,
and naked legs.
Swaying to and fro,
moving slow,
alone.
Running my fingers through hair,
damp with salt,
from confusion,
frustration,
relief and elation.
I just want to sing this song,
and dance,
alone.
Sipping from my glass,
contemplating weeks past,
my body writhes to the rhythm,
made fluid,
from my own sorrow.
I’ve been healed,
content,
in my own skin,
since I let him in.
But I’m easily seduced,
by words,
the appearance of an open heart.
I easily forget,
he’s not mine and I’m,
alone.
I don’t understand him,
or what he sees,
in me,
declares poetically,
then forgets,
just as easily.
Weaving my waist, hips,
echoing the flow of the melody,
trying to convince myself,
I don’t need anybody.
Loneliness,
it’s such a waste of time.
So I dance,
around my bedroom,
letting the song,
soak into my heartache.
I hum the words,
wiping tears,
from the brim of my wine glass,
telling myself,
I don’t mind dancing,
alone.

Cry to Me by Solomon Burke

When your baby leaves you all alone
And nobody calls you on the phone
Ah, don’t you feel like crying?
Don’t you feel like crying?
Well here I am my honey
Oh, come on you cry to me.

When you’re all alone in your lonely room
And there’s nothing but the smell of her perfume
Ah don’t you feel like crying
Don’t you feel like crying?
Ah don’t you feel like crying?
Come on, come on cry to me.

Well nothing could be sadder
Than a glass of wine, all alone
Loneliness, loneliness, it’s such a waste of time
Oh-oh yeah

You don’t ever have to walk alone, oh you see
Oh come on, take my hand and baby won’t you walk with me?

When you’re waiting for a voice to come
In the night and there is no one
Ah don’t you feel like crying? (cry to me)
Don’t you feel like crying? (cry to me)
Ah don’t you feel like a-ca-ca-cra-co-cra-co-cra-cra, (cry to me)
Cra-co-cra-co-cra-cra crying? (cry to me)
Ah don’t you feel like a-cra-co-cra-co-cra-cra,
Cra-co-cra-co-cra-cra crying?

14 thoughts on “nothing is sadder than a glass of wine alone.

  1. these are true words about life and well written these are everday experieces cruel i know but truthfull and its sad when people suffer these things .but i have to say you write well it should be read by poeple and people should learn from this about how to treat people and how not to treat people in life. well done for writing this from kevin.

    1. Cruel, and truthful – yes. Wow, Kevin. You flatter me. I could only hope that someone will learn from me, my poetry, someday. It would be a satisfactory life to affect at least one other person’s. Thank you.

  2. Very well done. I can relate to so much of this… from just the last 24 hours!! I have done about 80 to 90% of this TODAY. I swear you are in my head. Like I said, well done my friend. 😉

  3. Music is one of the best things in life. I listen to music when I write and could be why most of time it has a rythem to it 🙂 this is well written… nice

say something to me.

