butterflies and bluebirds.

September 5, 2011

I think it and,
dare not whisper it too loudly,
for the letters may frighten,
and scatter,
like timid butterflies,
or bluebirds,
in the morning hush or,
for the words may fragment,
and ruin,
as aged coliseums or,
ancient shrines and fortresses,
or for the punctuation,
may disintegrate,
like loose granules of sand,
through the pinch in the hourglass,
but every fiber of my being,
feels it,
my heart pulses it,
softly but barely contained,
as I think it and want to exclaim:
I am happy.

53 Responses to “butterflies and bluebirds.”

  1. blitzken said

    Don’t jinx. it. 😉

  2. NK said

    I love this poem. The imagery is awesome and then ending brings everything together. I did get thrown off a little at first when you transitioned to the words. I don’t know why but I had trouble with the or,/for – but this is probably just me and upon figuring it out (duh!) and reading it again I really loved it and the rhythm it produced. I feel like I tell you you capture things perfectly too often but I can’t think of a better way to describe what you do in your poems… because you do capture things so perfectly.

    • Fountains said

      I truly appreciate your honest opinions, Nancy. I, myself, was unsure of the or/for transitions but it just didn’t want to come out any other way. Glad to know that these transitions were a bit sticky, but that the meaning wasn’t lost altogether. I’ll have to keep this in mind. 🙂

  3. ellielawson said

    oh this is just lovely… well done : )

  4. Beautifully expressed. Once again, you’ve captured in words emotions that we all share but would never think to express the way you have. Well done!

  5. Oh, but this is beautiful. Well done my friend.

    Melanie

  6. Ahhh “morning hush” …love that! Actually used it myself 🙂 Beautiful, lulling and peaceful. Nice imagery!

  7. amazing…

    have fun in the rally.

  8. How often do we think our words will not express but ruin our thought.

  9. Morning said

    your thoughts are flying like butterfly indeed.

    well done.

  10. fiveloaf said

    great choice of words and expression fountain! my entry.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/lines/

  11. Caledoniapoems said

    Brilliant 😉

  12. Wonderful poem. I really like this.

    Happy rally

  13. ShonEjai said

    Fantastic! Beautiful! I love it!

  14. ZQ said

    Yikes! Another diamond in the mine 🙂 that was perfect. *****
    ZQ

  15. Nate said

    wow! lovely poem.. i like these lines —

    as I think it and want to exclaim:
    I am happy.

  16. vanitymask said

    You probably know this already and have heard it like a million times before but I’m gonna say it anyways. You’re very. VERY. talented.

  17. You’ve captured the emotions so well here and it was a pleasure to read. Beautifully written 🙂

  18. Iris D said

    like loose granules of sand in the pinch of the hourglass

    What feeling and imagery you invoke. You have many great lines here. Very interesting poem

  19. […] nominate Where Pleasant Fountains Lie for the next […]

say something to me.

