on publication, prestige, and finding a purpose.

I only began this blog at the beginning of June of this year, but it seems it’s already time to make changes. And I don’t want to.
But I must. It’s for an ultimate goal. I’ve received several emails from fellow bloggers that I will remember and cherish until I ultimately drive off a bridge or fall prey to dementia. As my By Daily Dying homepage says, I’ve always had something to say – and have been fortunate enough to find so many ears that are willing to listen. Through this, I have become more of myself than I had ever hoped to become. I am, and will always be, eternally grateful.
It seems I will be posting less newer poetry, and more rambling and blogging of this nature. Luckily, I have a stockpile of older poetry to riffle through. It has been called to my attention that if a writer wants to be published, they must not give away the goods. Oh, but how I want to! How harrowing it is to want to be heard, and to have to hold one’s tongue. I am still learning patience.
Changes to WherePleasantFountainsLie and its content will have to be made, as well as to my habits and faulty thinking. When a girl has wanted to hold her own book in her hands for 20 years, it’s high time she did something about it. Even if its scary.
I’m having difficulty with the idea of these changes, for I’ve found such pride in my poetry within these recent months. Not pride in myself, mind you, but in others’ appreciation for emotion, experience, and what I perceive to be as a lost art.
Poetry isn’t the prestigious skill it was once accepted to be, or so I keep being told. Poetry doesn’t make money, they say – or Everyone writes poetry, but no one reads it. I argue that 10,494 site hits says otherwise. One hundred and twenty views a day on average, and three hundred and eighteen on the busiest, must somehow equal interest. And if it doesn’t, an average of 432 comments a month surely does. I have no idea how much an interest this may entail, especially when compared to others. But I’m ready to find out.
These numbers shouldn’t mean any more than just that – the idea of an interest, a pique at someone’s passion, and the proof one may need to pursue their own purpose. I suppose I should be apprehensive about the possible dwindling of these statistics with this advent of change. But when I let go of what I am, I become what I might be. – Lao Tzu

If there is something you must do, and you cannot do it, you cannot do anything else. – Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook.

16 thoughts on “on publication, prestige, and finding a purpose.

  1. I have similar thoughts. I write often and spontaneously, and I doubt I will stop that, but I may have to keep some stuff separate. Focused, perhaps particular themes or audiences in mind, I don’t know, but yeah, with the aim of publishing.
    Luckily I also songwrite and perform, so that is an outlet where I am supposed to put stuff out there to try out. 😉

    Do what you have to do to be you, he had a point that old Lau Tzu.

  2. If you must hold back, then hold back you must, but under one condition. When your book gets published, then you must advertise it here so that we can all obtain a copy!

    Although your beautifully painted thoughts displayed through verse and rhyme will be dearly missed, I for one wish to express my happiness towards you and the pursuit of your goals! 20 years is a long time to wait just to give up! You will have my full support in this endeavour! Kudos!

    1. Crossing my fingers that something comes from my endeavors. I just want to write and post, but am told I shouldn’t. I appreciate your support, and encouragement, Scatteredpeicesofme. You’re a sweetheart, and duh – of course you’ll know if anything awesome happens.

    1. Wow, thank you. It’s a tattoo representative of Charles Bukowski’s There’s a Bluebird in My Heart poem. It’s because this year I needed to remind myself to still hope. And all that reflects on things mentioned in this post, actually.

  3. Changes can be good :). What are you actually writing on anyway? And about everyone writes poetry and no one reads it, I have this friend who said he tried to follow my blog and read the poetry I write but he said he doesn’t understand them and stopped following. That gave me something to laugh about over beer.

    1. Wooow. 🙂 Haha, my own mother has said she doesn’t understand me on the rare occasions I’ve let her read something I’ve written. J, I’m just trying to be a writer in every sense of the word. Submitting to books and magazines and such to build foundations which will hopefully lead to publication.

      1. My mum just listens and nods haha, my dad, he will always look clueless, my sister doesnt have the time lol. Good luck to you then. My own transition will happen next year, and if things work out, the dream to be a writer will as well. A toast to the new turn then.

say something to me.

