nightswimming.

New beginnings deserve a quiet night.
Every lamppost reveals our reflection,
in the windshield and open windows.
I’m pining for the moon.

Swimming through the street curves,
the glassy glow of the city,
winding roads and endless vines.
September’s ending soon.

Somehow with your hand on my thigh,
and singing to the radio,
I finally liked the road I was on,
along a damp, chill mountainside.

Somewhere between running in the rain,
and you picking muddy flowers,
I ceased to be a depleted woman,
and somehow became yours.

As you drive, a blur of illumination,
the headlights dipped in vodka,
and I’m safer than I’ve ever been.
The moon is bright tonight.

10 thoughts on “nightswimming.

  1. You weild words with a skill few can manage. I enjoyed your description and the heart you injected into this poem. A beautifully passionate tale. Thank you for sharing. It reminded me of someone special

  2. I am particularly fond of this post. You have “wielded” these words and hit emotion in a very smooth fashion. I know this because you tapped into my emotions so easily that I didn’t even realize it until afterwords. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’m so happy! I use to love the song and was recently reminded of it. I tend to take my favorite things and butcher them in this manner, so I’m thrilled to hear I didn’t kill it.

  3. Another beautiful piece.

    Just to let you know, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. If you have already gotten it, just know that your writing is still appreciated. If you havenโ€™t ever received it, you can visit my blog today for instructions.

    I hope you have a great day!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh, Joanna! You have no idea how encouraging you are. No, I have not heard of the Versatile Blogger Award and I will look it up on your blog. I wish I could express how much the nomination means to me and just to know I have such a fan in you. Thank you, thank you, thank you more than I have the ability to express.

say something to me.

