reinvention.

November 18, 2011

Yeah, I smoked it.
First time ever.
Coughed and sputtered, graceful and ladylike.
I didn’t like it.
It didn’t like me.
But the smell reminded me of someone, you see.
You wouldn’t recognize me lately.
It seems I reinvent myself following each disappointment.
That is, before settling back to who I am.
I just need a little while for distractions,
where I can purge these emotions recklessly,
until my mind is no longer my enemy,
and my words have stopped fighting with me.
Yeah, I keep busy.
Until I can start sleeping again,
and facing my bathroom mirror.
I’m okay with it.
I’m okay with me.
That is, once I’m myself again, you see.

11.18.2011

Who are YOU? said the Caterpillar.
This was not an encouraging opening for a conversation. Alice replied rather shyly, I hardly know, sir, just at present – at least I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then.

 

9 Responses to “reinvention.”

  1. We all need to break free from the confines of the “self” from time to time, lest we become stagnant. We’re always ourselves, who ever they may be. ^.^

  2. It’s sad when we need to escape just to find a single clear breath sometimes… Hope you find it soon.

  3. “It seems I reinvent myself following each disappointment.
    That is, before settling back to who I am”

    i really can relate, i like this line alot. nice poem

  4. abichica said

    awesome poem.. you always write very incredible poems.. 😀

  5. v v v v v said

    survival instincts 🙂

say something to me.

