morning first blush.

A vanilla sky echoes,
the white in the wine,
swelled lips pressed,
to a long-neck bottle,
laying in the bed of an,
old, candy apple pick-up.

Amber waves whisper,
off the rocks and shore,
as wine trickles from,
the bubblegum corners,
softly wiped away,
on long, sunrise sleeves.

11.26.2011

Why do we love the sea? It is because it has some potent power to make us think things we like to think. – Robert Henri

There was never a night or problem that could defeat a sunrise. – Bern Williams

Poets Rally Week 56 Winner

24 thoughts on “morning first blush.

  1. “Amber waves whisper,
    off the rocks and shore,
    as wine trickles from,
    the bubblegum corners,”

    God should have more evenly distributed your talents. I am fairly sure you were given an overdose 😉

    “I wish I could live where the sea meets the land. The ocean and I would be the best of friends.” – Emery

    I am a child of the sea. When there, no poetry is needed, as it fairly churns in every wave

    1. “God” has nothing to do with it–Fountains is a “self-propelled wheel”. She created herself out of the Ocean, and is what she created herself out of.

    2. VW, you’ve made my cheeks pink! 😉 I, myself, am probably an overdose in so many ways. The ocean has been my solace for several years now, and have recently sought inspiration in the mountains. Maybe once I’ve reached my summit there, I’ll move onto a valley or field of sorts…

      1. Curious. I recently moved from the ocean to the mountains. I would be very interested to know your feelings on the transition and the difference in how it affects your inspiration

  2. I am surprised Dragonbreath hasn’t been here yet with drippy hot flames…but I see VW beat me to the punch 😉

    Perhaps it is my state of mind, but this reminded me of some of my romantic beach experiences…not in the back of a pickup…but I get the idea.

    1. I was there, my brother, with “drippy hot flames”–for I live in the Sun–I die in every dusk, and am reborn in every dawn.

      I witness all your human flings, and simultaneously smile like a virgin in the first flames of love and weep like an old, extinguished woman who can never love or be loved again.

      Strip off your clothes, and you can dive into my blue tears, and feel my refulgent smile all around you . . . swimming and drowning become one in the same: a comical ending, a tragic beginning–a single, inexplicable dream.

      Wake up . . . the Sun is rising.

      1. One never dives into the water to save a drowning man more eagerly than when there are others present who dare not take the risk. – Nietzsche

        😉

    2. Tincup, it was extremely romantic – and all the more so for I was there alone. Sometimes there is a peace and quiet that one’s soul requires which can only be found under very specific conditions – at the break of day, at the edge of the world, with only myself as company.

    1. Thank Go–erm…uh, my self-propelled wheel that I adore myself so entirely. 😉 I’ve been dying to ask… why do you make “Eternity” into a proper noun if you doubt its existence?

      1. Was I unclear on that point? I do not doubt its existence, for that would imply that I think nothingness could exist. While the whole of Science is lost in this comical crotchet, to the point where it has built an underground temple to it in Europe, I have never–at least in the mature stages of my thought–fallen for this absurdity.

        And, to end this night/morning with yet another Nietzsche quote: “The Noble Soul has reverence for itself”. Keep that in your heart to the very end, Naiad . . . and you can never lose, yourself, or Life. 😉

        The thought of you in the embrace of that Ocean Sunrise inspires me, and entices me to a neglected Ocean Sunset. Mine, though, will involve Red Wine–and then, the blizzard of stars above and beyond a solitary bonfire. I’ll raise a toast to you . . .

      2. Thrilled to be of such inspiration. 😉 But instead of a toast, maybe you could wish on one of those stars for me. I could use all the help I could get.

  3. Hello, you win perfect poet award for week 56, hope that you have enjoyed it.
    It has been a delightful experience with you supporting Thursday Poets Rally, we have enjoyed your presence and talent very much, thumbs up!
    fabulous poetry along the way, keep those gems coming.
    Always, you are more than welcome to join our biweekly rally.
    Happy Holidays!
    smiles.
    xoxox

    missed you a lot, take good care.

say something to me.

