open window smell.

I don’t know where I’m going – mostly since I’m not sure where I’ve been. But I’m getting there.
Sometimes on twilight evenings that become moonlit mornings with the curtains wide and the windows open, I sit and listen to the echoes of a familiar lifetime. That’s what I’m best at doing – remembering. There’s a certain open window smell, reminiscent of years of sunsets and tasting of nightfall which surrenders the mind.
The crickets sing for one another and the cicadas call out to the edge of their world, and I am reminded there are others out my window as thoughtful as I am. There are other open windows.
I am also reminded it is spring and last year’s leaves have long since made way for buds and blossoms. Sometimes I forget that yesterday holds no bearing on today, and I do miss those flowers.

14 thoughts on “open window smell.

  1. I love the way you write. I have been reading some of your work and I really have been moved. I invite you to check out my blog and participate in the Flash Fiction writing challenge I am hosting. I think the challenge would really benefit from your distinct voice.

  2. Beautiful. I loved this. I too am a “rememberer” and I get stuck in it at times… tending to remember things as better than they were. You described that so well here!

    I’m sorry I haven’t been around much. I am trying to get caught up now. We lost my mother-in-law-to-be almost 2 weeks ago and life has been anything but the same. It’s good to “read” you again πŸ™‚

    1. I am sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. Are you all right? I haven’t been a very good fellow poet myself, these days. Rarely writing, and never reading.

      1. Thank you. I am doing OK. It hits sometimes and knocks the breath out of me, but for my fiance I must be strong and be a shoulder. He has lost far greater that I have in all of this. Sadly I cannot carry his grief for him though I wish I could. Thank you for asking.

        I’m sorry things have been rough for you as well. I hope that you can find some comfort in the lovely, artful writing that you do. And I hope that time will work it’s magic and help smooth the rough patches in your soul. I’m near if you ever need to vent.

      2. There is comfort here, and moreso with every person that relates. My thoughts are with you. Thank you for being such a soulmate, Joanna, however seldom and far apart. πŸ™‚

  3. Considering your remarks to me about reflection–that I do it too often–I find this post must troubling–but of course well written as always.

    Had the same sort of moment myself last night because it was raining and cool and where I had put the air conditioner in slipshod left a crack for the moist air to enter the room.

    Brought back those things I was doing this time last year with someone that isn’t part of my life anymore.

say something to me.

