good year for the roses.

May 10, 2012

The thought occurred to me,
as I sat by the bushes we planted,
on the curb where your truck should be,
how heavy the aftermath of silence.

The thought occurred to me,
while lighting your cigarette stub,
which I plucked from the yard,
like so many of the weeds.

The thought occurred to me,
as for the first time since I met you,
I actually missed the smell of smoke and,
it’s been a good year for the roses.

2 Responses to “good year for the roses.”

  1. Very nice write! I kept me hanging around to the end…and that was very good! I liked it a lot!

say something to me.

