for i’m one of them.

Sometimes, people think about dying, and I think that’s okay. It’s not scary, sick, or melodramatic as others try to make it seem. What it is, is people are wired to be afraid of the unknown – a new place, an unfamiliar haircut, a diagnosis. It’s why we stay at jobs which make us miserable, and why we toe the line at adultery. Because what if the bridge is burned and we can’t come back? We’re all just grown children wary of the dark. People also want you to think like they think, feel how they feel. We’re wired to condemn what we don’t understand. It’s a reflex response to the fear. It’s why we’re told this job isn’t so bad and there’s nothing better, and why flirting isn’t infidelity. They’re not comfortable here, but who knows what’s waiting out there. If you’re not afraid of what they’re afraid of, they’re going to notice. But some children are born knowing the dark is only a different perspective – an opportunity to find the light. Death is the biggest thing that will ever happen in your life, isn’t it? It’s the Great Unknown, It’s the final answer, the biggest cannot-undo, and no-takey-backsies. It’s your take-a-bow, your curtains close. It seems only natural to want to have a say in when it occurs, and how it happens.

Some people turn sad awfully young. No special reason, it seems, but they seem almost to be born that way. They bruise easier, tire faster, cry quicker, remember longer and, as I say, get sadder younger than anyone else in the world. I know, for I’m one of them. – Ray Bradbury

7 thoughts on “for i’m one of them.

  1. Where is that from? There’s good insight here. I’m one of them too. I figure death can’t be any worse than where I came from because I am not aware of where I came from, but I’m still scared because I think I might miss something or I might not show up at work, but when I think of it, I wouldn’t have missed anything significant from today, and they wouldn’t notice if I didn’t show up to work.

      1. Oh no! Now, I’m going to worry about why I can’t get myself free! I’m in big trouble. I might even need to write something down. πŸ™‚

  2. But I welcome a natural death or dying and don’t give a damn about what is beyond if anything. I am not religeous but brought up in the Salvation Army mom & dad simply instilled in us you are going somewhere better. That has lingered, when dad died I was actually happy for him because I knew he believed he was going somewhere where he would be happy. So that fear is a distant instinct perhaps, but anyhow gring on gal,I know I can die happy through relief (and because I saw you blondie,)

say something to me.

